In Cheshire

CHESHIRE

This is a very diverse county with the metropolis' of Liverpool and Manchester to the North and the rural areas of the south of the county. The following websites will give you an idea of things to do, places to visit and events happening during your stay.

Cheshire: www.visitcheshire.com , www.cheshirepeakdistrict.com
The National Trust: www.nationaltrust.org.uk
Made in Cheshire (Foods): www.madeincheshire.com

 

DATES FOR YOUR DIARY 2014

Bolesworth International 12th - 15th June
www.bolesworthinternational.com

Cholmondeley Pageant Of Power 13th - 15th June
www.cpop.co.uk

Cheshire Show 17th & 18th June,
www.cheshirecountyshow.org.uk

RHS Flower Show at Tatton Park 23rd - 27th July
www.rhs.org.uk/Shows-Events/RHS-Show-Tatton-Park

Nantwich Food and Drink Festival 5th - 7th September
www.nantwichfoodfestival.co.uk

  

PLACES OF INTEREST 

Blue Planet Aquarium, M53 off Junc 10
Award winning aquarium, swim with the sharks!
Tel: 0151 357 8800 www.blueplanetaquarium.co.uk

Chester Zoo, Upton by Chester
Largest Zoo in the UK, over 7000 animals and famous Zoofari railway.
Tel: 01244 380280 www.chesterzoo.org

Jodrell Bank, A535 near Holmes Chapel
Home of the Lovell Telescope, 3D theatre, planetarium and 35 acre arboretum
Tel: 01477 571339 www.manchester.ac.uk/jodrellbank/viscen

Hack Green Secret Nuclear Bunker, off A530 Whitchurch Road, Nr. Nantwich
WW2 command bunker, kept secret with war rooms and audio visual in 2 cinemas. Follow Soviet Spy Mouse Trail.
Tel: 01270 629 219 www.hackgreen.co.uk

Oulton Park Race Circuit, Little Budworth, Tarporley
320 Acres of offers car and bike racing. Superbikes, Touring Cars, Formula 3. Perfect for family day out.
Tel: 01829 760301 www.brandshatchcircuits.co.uk

Cheshire Workshops, Burwardsley Nr. Chester
Candle making, crafts and tearoom.
Tel: 01829 770401 www.cheshireworkshops.co.uk

Port Sunlight Village/Lady Lever Gallery, Port Sunlight, Wirral
Unique 19th century village created by William Lever, named after Sunlight soap. The gallery is the jewel in the crown with celebrated collections of paintings and furniture.
Tel: 0151 644 6466 www.liverpoolmuseums.org.uk

Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet,
140+ stores. save up to 50% ont he labels you love. Free parking. Food court
Tel: 0151 348 5600 visit www.cheshireoaksdesigneroutlat.com

 

HISTORIC HOUSES AND GARDENS:

National Trust: www.nationaltrust.org.uk
English Heritage: www.english-heritage.co.uk
Historic Houses Association: www.hha.org.uk
Arley Hall and Gardens: www.arleyhallandgardens.com
Cholmondeley Castle Garden: 01829 720383
Tatton Park: www.tattonpark.org.uk
Capesthorne Hall Park & Gardens: www.capesthorne.com
Gawsworth Hall: www.gawsworthhall.com
Rode Hall: 01270 873237
Congleton Museum: www.congletonmuseum.co.uk
Macclesfield Silk Museums: www.silk-macclesfield.org
Stretton Watermill: 01606 41331
The Salt Museum: www.saltmuseum.org.uk
Bridgemere Garden World: www.bridgemere.co.uk

ACTIVITIES:

Delamere Forest Park: www.forestry.gov.uk/northwestengland
Cheshire Waterlife: www.cheshire-waterlife.co.uk
Cotebrook Shire Horse Centre: www.cotebrookshirehorses.co.uk
Stockley Farm: 01565 777323
Crocky Trail: 01244 336161
Gullivers World: www.gulliversfun.co.uk